So why, Pages FiftyFive?

by pagesfiftyv

Image

Photo found on Page 55

The other day, a dear friend asked me the question ‘Why, Pages FiftyFive?’

So, For those of you that are not so keen on reading…The short answer… ‘Oh, because I was just inspired by a picture found on Page 55 within a magazine.’

And whilst this answer is very much true. There is so much more about this truth that I need to explain.

Since my early teens I have dreamt about creating something from myself, working for myself, and by doing so making a difference to someone else’s life.

I’ve always been interested by fashion so it made sense that there would be no better way than to pair the two together and create an environment where I could help, encourage and love on another person through fashion. My aim is to design garments for people that suits them and meets their personality, rather than them having to fit into something that society would class as acceptable. I want people to learn new skills for themselves and learn how to dream and think Outside of the box.

Years went by and after numerous attempts and hard efforts to try and make my dream a reality, I began to start loosing my ‘Passion for Fashion’. I forgot about my dream and began to settle in life, miserably existing rather than zealously living.

It wasn’t until earlier this year when I met someone who had too dreamed big dreams and spent years working hard to make their dream a reality. They understood the hurt and frustration I was going through as they had too tried and failed, tried again and fail again. It took them a few years and alot of determination and hardwork but they can finally say they have succeeded and met that dream. Now that goal’s been reached, they’re dreaming some more. I tell you…they have the Potential & determination to be a World Changer.

By watching and listening to their stories and advice, their enthusiasm and determination for dreaming began to rub off on me. I was learning how to dream again. But not just little dreams, Big dreams. Outside of the Box dreams. ‘What kind of dream is that?’ type of dreams. They lovingly gave me every piece of advice they could and presented to me as many opportunities they could find for me.

So what has this got to do with the photo? Well. It’s one of those inside Jokes my friend and I like to share I suppose, But we like to call him the ‘Underwater Astronaut.’ Months went on, my friend left the country, and I still hadn’t developed the confidence to start putting any plans into place to make my dream a reality. It was only when I came across this photo (See above) on Page 55 in a Fashion Magazine that I started to remember everything the ‘Underwater Astronaut’ had taught me. It’s crazy what the slightest memory can do to you, but this photo kick started something within me and gave me the motivation, passion and determination to dream outside of the box once again.

The most successful people in the world are the ones that got back up when they failed, and not just after the first failure.. after the 4th, 5th, 6th and so forth.

I want to encourage you all to not let those dreams you once spent hours dreaming about die. Those dreams that kept you up at night and gave you that butterfly feeling in your tummy are still there waiting there for you to reach.  I want you all to find your own Page55. Whether it be a picture a person or a purpose. Find something that will motivate you, encourage you and patiently love on and help you get to where it is you want to go.

I am forever grateful,

Lots of Love,

Leah xxx

